Episode 4 study guide for El Internado

Here is the download link, as well as the link for supplemental activities.

It took me two months to write this study guide; there are 11 additional activities including 2 Kahoot! and 2 Quizlet reading activities (which can be played as a Quizlet Live! game if you have an account).

ep 4 guide

All of the activities referred to in the left margin can be downloaded for free from my Teachers Pay Teachers store. Look for the download titled “Free Supplemental Activities for Episode 4”. To help you locate the correct resource while teaching, each activity is numbered in the same order as they are presented in the study guide.

There are also links to online activities; just paste those links into the address bar of an internet browser.

The left margin occasionally contains a vocabulary phrase. These are to alert you to phrases that your students may not be familiar with but that are extremely high-frequency in El Internado. It is worth taking the time to thoroughly teach these phrases by using them a lot (with frequent comprehension checks) when students first encounter them.

I take pride in writing summaries that are highly comprehensible to students. However, many of the questions in the right margin are intended to be “challenge questions”. Some are truly trivia, while others are explanations that highlight phrases that most students will neither notice nor need to notice to understand the series.

There are many ways of using this study guide. I have blogged about how I use the study guides here:

https://mrpeto.wordpress.com/1a-tips-on-how-to-teach-el-internado/
and
https://mrpeto.wordpress.com/2016/02/29/should-i-show-the-subtitles-while-watching-el-internado-in-class/
and this one even includes a video of me teaching El Internado to one of my Spanish 1 classes:
https://mrpeto.wordpress.com/2015/12/17/nothing-is-a-stretch-for-your-students/

I hope this product brings joy to your classroom!

Mike Peto

4 comments

  1. Do you use El Internado with Heritage Speakers or just with non-native speakers? I’m wondering how to scaffold it and/or make things harder/more thought-provoking for my Heritage Speakers. Last year, we watched some episodes of Violetta & most of them enjoyed it, but I didn’t push them a lot in the processing part of it. I sometimes asked them to compare Violetta’s life to aspects of their own, but I feel they just used it as a time to relax and didn’t really get any of the cultural differences & didn’t really THINK with it. Now that I’ve finished El Internado myself, I thought about using it next year, but I only teach Heritage Speakers now (might have one class of non-natives this year), so I’m not sure how to really go about it with them.

    • I use it with heritage learners to expand their language community. While they all come from families that speak Spanish, many in my classes have a very limited language community (ie they communicate with relatives but are rarely exposed to other variations of Spanish, even self-selecting media that reinforce a very limited language community). We do not have to discuss it and analyze it consciously for students to benefit; getting students hooked on a novela that uses a Spanish that they would not normally attend to is worth kicking back and enjoying the last 15 minutes of class.

      • Thanks! I have class for 45 min every day, so I’ve done a video for 30 minutes or so every Friday or every other Friday as long as we’ve gotten other things done the rest of the week. When I did Violetta, I had them usually write 10 sentences about various comparisons or other prompts on an index card before the end of class (so I knew they paid attention and was an easy grade), but I’d love to actually talk about topics more. They definitely need to develop more academic language! I also thought about doing a little bit with the 2 different versions of Gran Hotel/Hotel de Secretos to compare the cultural differences between Spain & Mexico. I have a very hard time getting them to think outside their little bubble – I know it’s typical for middle school, but I’d still like them to think a little more.

  2. So cool! I never thought of imbedding the questions right in the reading like that I think it’s a great idea:)

Leave a Reply

